Switchgrass V International Conference July 22-25, Champaign, Il

The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is hosting the Switchgrass V International Conference: Dedicated Energy Crops and Native Grasses for the Emerging Bioeconomy

Please join our lab at this conference! It will be held on July 22-25, 2019.

Click the link here for more information! https://sustainability.illinois.edu/outreach/annual-events-conferences/switchgrass-v-conference/

We hope to see you there!

Dr. Lee receives distinguished award

Congratulations Dr. Lee for being awarded the Runge Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award by the College of ACES! This award was presented at the Paul A. Funk Awards Banquet on Monday, April 8th, 2019. Dr. Lee is the inaugural winner.

The Runge Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award is an annual award presented to recognize the professional career of a faculty member for their work and achievements in teaching, research and publications, extension and outreach, faculty governance, professional associations and service to the college and campus.

The award is supported by the U of I Foundation Pat and Ed Runge Distinguished Faculty Award endowment. Dr. Ed Runge has been one of the most visible agronomists in the last half of the 20th century. He received his BS (Ag Ed) and MS (Soils) degrees from the University of Illinois and a PhD (Soils) from Iowa State University. He served on the faculty at Iowa State University (1959-1963), and the University of Illinois (1963-1973); was Professor and Chairman of the Agronomy Department at the University of Missouri (1973-80); was Professor and Department Head of the Soil & Crop Sciences Department at Texas A&M University (1980-1999); was Visiting Professor at the University of Illinois (2000); was Billie Turner Chair in Production Agronomy (2000-2005; and received ACES Alumni Award of Merit (2001). Presently (2018) Ed Runge is Program Director and Judging Panel Chair for Monsanto’s Beachell-Borlaug International Scholars Program at Texas A&M University to train PhD students in rice and wheat breeding.